50 States Mortgage Licensing Lawyer

Since the enactment of the SAFE Act, all mortgage professionals and companies located in all 50 states in the United States have been required to obtain mortgage licenses.   Applications are submitted through the NMLS, as shown by clicking on the link below:


Some mortgage license application items are submitted electronically through NMLS and some items are submitted directly to the applicable state regulator.

It is important to note that NMLS is not a license, but a platform used by all 50 states to submit mortgage (and other financial services) license applications.   Accordingly, the actual mortgage license is granted by each state’s regulator.  For example, in California, both the DFPI and DRE (not NMLS) grants mortgage licenses.

Please review the mortgage license requirements of each state, and then contact me for a quote for license application services.   Each state typically has more than one mortgage license, which your mortgage business can choose from to fit your mortgage business model.


Feel free to contact me, a 50 States Mortgage Licensing Lawyer, so I can explain the type of services offered.   Please note that if you need me to assist you to select the specific type of licenses that your business model needs and/or required to have for specific business activities, that my firm charges for such services, and your company will need to engage my firm for such services.



  •  Assistance with obtaining mortgage broker, lender, and servicer license applications in all 50 states.
  • Assistance in obtaining mortgage loan originator license in all 50 states.
  • Advice concerning State and Federal Lending Laws to California and Texas brokers, lenders, and servicers.  See our Texas legal services website.
  • Drafting of loan documents to California and Texas brokers, lenders, and servicers.  See our Texas legal services website
  • Representation before CFPB for mortgage brokers, lenders, and servicers located in all 50 states.
  • Representation in DBO and DRE administrative hearings and proceedings, including Accusations, Statements of Issues, Desist and Refrain Orders, and Citations, for  California brokers, lenders, and servicers.
  • Representation in TX SML in administrative proceedings and investigations.  See our Texas legal services website.
  • Representation in investigations by DBO or DRE for California brokers, lenders, and servicers..

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act) was enacted on July 30, 2008, and mandates a nationwide licensing and registration system for residential mortgage loan originators (MLOs). The SAFE Act prohibits individuals from engaging in the business of a residential mortgage loan originator without first obtaining and maintaining annually:

  • For individuals who are employees of covered financial institution, registration as a registered mortgage loan originator and a unique identifier (federal registration),
  • For all other individuals, a state license and registration as a state-licensed mortgage loan originator, and a unique identifier ( state licensing/registration).

The SAFE Act requires that federal registration and state licensing and registration be accomplished through the same online registration system, the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (Registry).The objectives of the SAFE Act include aggregating and improving the flow of information to and between regulators; providing increased accountability and tracking of MLOs; enhancing consumer protections; supporting anti-fraud measures; and providing consumers with easily accessible information at no charge regarding the employment history of and publicly adjudicated disciplinary and enforcement actions against MLOs.

We provide assistance with mortgage license applications in all 50 states, including the following:

Alabama mortgage license .    Alaska mortgage license .  Arizona mortgage license .   Arkansas mortgage license .   California mortgage license .   Colorado mortgage license .  Connecticut mortgage license .  Delaware mortgage license .  Florida mortgage license .   Georgia mortgage license .   Hawaii mortgage license .  Idaho mortgage license .  Illinois mortgage license .  Indiana mortgage license .  Iowa mortgage license .  Kansas mortgage license .  Kentucky mortgage license .  Louisiana mortgage license .  Maine mortgage license .  Maryland mortgage license .  Massachusetts mortgage license .  Michigan mortgage license .  Minnesota mortgage license .  Mississippi mortgage license .  Missouri mortgage license .  Montana mortgage license .   Nebraska mortgage license .   Nevada mortgage license . New Hampshire mortgage license .  New Jersey mortgage license .  New Mexico mortgage license . New York mortgage license .  North Carolina mortgage license .  North Dakota mortgage license .  Ohio mortgage license .  Oklahoma mortgage license .   Oregon mortgage license .  Pennsylvania mortgage license .  Rhode Island mortgage license . South Carolina mortgage license .  South Dakota mortgage license .  Tennessee mortgage license .   Texas mortgage license .  Utah mortgage license .  Vermont mortgage license .   Virginia mortgage license .  Washington mortgage license . West Virginia mortgage license .  Wisconsin mortgage license .  Wyoming mortgage license .

Not Certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization or the California Board of Legal Specialization

The information provided on this Web site provides general information of interest, and should not be taken as legal advice for specific situations which depend on evaluation of precise factual circumstances. This website is purely a public resource of general information which is intended, but not promised or guaranteed, to be correct, complete and up-to-date. This website is not a source of legal advice, and thus the material provided on this website is not intended to create, and the receipt of it does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.  Readers should not rely on information provided here-in, and should always seek the advice of competent counsel in the reader’s state.  The owner of this website is the LAW OFFICES OF ALAN ABERGEL, P.C.,  (“Abergel Law”) with its sole employed attorney, Alan Abergel, who is licensed as an attorney only in the states of Texas and California. The owner of this website does not wish to represent anyone desiring representation based on viewing this website in a state where this website fails to comply with all laws and ethics rules of that state.  Unless otherwise agreed to in writing between Abergel Law and the potential client, legal representation, legal services, and attorney-client relationship begins only upon the potential client signing an attorney fee agreement and paying the applicable fee stated in the same agreement.